Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Music for the Flute by Women Composers

April 22, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

The BMC presents “Music for the Flute by Women Composers” with flutist Deirdre McArdle and pianist Deiran Manning, joined by Robin Matathias and the combined Flute Ensemble of Keene State College and the BMC. The performance is set for Saturday, April 22, at 7 p.m. at the BMC.

Works composed by Anna Amalie, Cecile Chaminade, Mel Bonis and Yuko Uèbayashi will be performed.

Flutist Deirdre McArdle is the daughter of the noted Irish American modernist painter, Patrick McArdle. Founder of the Winter Harbor Music Festival in Maine, she has served on the flute and Chamber Music faculty at Bowdoin College and Manhattan School of Music. She has given masterclasses and performances in Israel, Italy, France, and Ireland and composers Elliott Schwartz, David Loeb, Robert Rohe, Daniel Paget, and Phillip Thomas have composed pieces for her and her students.

Pianist Deiran Manning has given performances across the United States, Ireland, England, France and Italy at notable venues such as Merkin Concert Hall, Weil Recital Hall at Carnegie, the National Concert Hall in Dublin and the New York City Mayor’s residence, Gracie Mansion. A Maine native, he spent his formative years in New York City attending LaGuardia High School and eventually earning his undergraduate and graduate degrees from Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music.


April 22, 2023
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:


Brattleboro Music Center
72 Blanche Moyse Way
Brattleboro, VT 05301 United States
+ Google Map
BMC Bravo Society

We are pleased to honor the following for their help during this past season:
Karen Becker, Crager Boardman, Deb Bunker, Lisa Cox, Walter Cramer, Cathie Creed, Rebecca Curzon, Becky Day, Bill Dixon, Kim Effron, Phil Feidelseit, Lotte Gannon-Kurowski, Greg Goodman, Marta Gossage, Bill Gottesman, Rebecca Greene-Cramer, Freddie Hart, Jenelle Harvey, Kimi Hasegawa, Cal Heile, Richard Henke, Frances Herbert, Lynn Herzog, Jenny Holan, Jon Joyce, Susan Kunhardt, Lerna, Meg Lyons, Joe Madison, Joanne McLellan, Helen Merena, Raquel Moreno, Kris Outwater, Kaylina Phoenix, Antje Ruppert, Perrin Scott, Betsy Whittaker, Pete Wilson, Tom Yahner and Louise Zak.

The Brattleboro Music Center

72 Blanche Moyse Way
Brattleboro, VT  05301

(802) 257-4523