Brattleboro Concert Choir

The Brattleboro Concert Choir performs an exciting and challenging repertoire, ranging from classic choral masterpieces to rarely heard and newly commissioned works. The Choir’s far-ranging and adventurous programming involves innovative collaborations, and we present dynamic concerts to packed audiences twice yearly. With Music Director Jonathan Harvey, the Choir is deeply committed to a high level of musical beauty, emotional expression, and community connection.

The BMC’s oldest performing ensemble, the Brattleboro Concert Choir was created by Blanche Moyse even before she established the BMC. The Choir’s repertoire has included such classic works as Handel’s Israel in Egypt, Bloch’s Sacred Service, Rachmaninoff’s All-Night Vigil, and the Requiems of Brahms, Verdi, Durufle, and Mozart, as well as contemporary music by Eric Whitacre, Arvo Pärt, Ola Gjeilo, Maria Guinand, Morten Lauridsen, and John Tavener, and commissions of Nico Muhly’s Jubilate and Paul Dedell’s Divine Chemistry. During the 2020-21 season, we were excited to focus on music by Black composers in the fall ( and women composers in the spring (

The Choir is currently seeking new members, and is open to all singers, of every voice part, by audition. We especially invite BIPOC singers, and singers of all gender identities, to join us for our next season. Our repertoire for the 2022-23 season will include five pieces by Nathaniel Dett: America the Beautiful, Ave Maria, Listen to the Lambs, Deep River, and O Holy Lord, Herbert Howell’s Requiem,  Dixit Dominus by Marianna Martinez, and Haydn’s Lord Nelson Mass.

Singers interested in learning more about the Choir and how to get involved, or to schedule an audition, should contact Music Director Jonathan Harvey at the Brattleboro Music Center (802-257-4523;

And be sure to check our out Facebook page!

Music Director Jonathan Harvey
Dr. Jonathan Harvey has been Music Director of the Brattleboro Concert Choir since 2018. In addition to his work with the BCC, he is also Assistant Professor of Music and Director of Choirs at Fitchburg State University, and Music Director of the newly-formed Brattleboro Camerata.

Jonathan’s commissioning projects, composer collaborations, and frequent performances of new and contemporary works are a testament to his commitment to ensuring that classical music is a living, breathing art form. His dedication to early music has inspired his research, presentations, and recordings of the music of Venetian Renaissance composer Adrian Willaert, his published work on music of Orlando di Lasso and C.P.E. Bach, and his frequent performances of Medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque repertoire.

Jonathan has previously held music director positions with universities, community music organizations, and churches in Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, and Indiana, and is a sought-after clinician and adjudicator. He is a member of the American Choral Directors Association, the National Collegiate Choral Organization, College Music Society, and Chorus America, and serves as a board member and Grants Committee Chair for Choral Arts New England. He currently lives in central Massachusetts with his wife Jessica and their son Wally.

BMC Bravo Society

The Brattleboro Music Center relies on volunteers in the community who give generously of their time. We are pleased to honor the following for their help in recent months:
Orion Barber, Bill Callahan, Tim Callahan, Deniz Cordell, Andy Davis, September Edaugal, Phil Feidelseit, Bill Gottesman, Lerna Gottesman, Desi Grace, Lynn Herzog, Kate John, Jon Joyce, Susan Boyd Joyce, Jenn Karstad, Mitike Lyons, Sheila Magnuson, Ellen Martyn, Helen Merena, Kristin Outwater, Greg Scharfen and Dave Snyder.

The Brattleboro Music Center

72 Blanche Moyse Way
Brattleboro, VT  05301

(802) 257-4523